Friday, February 6, 2015

Rajasthan - 1996 Raj bus blast: Court awards death to 1, life term to 6

Ashish Mehta, TNN | Sep 30, 2014, 04.14AM IST

BANDIKUI (Dausa): Nearly 18 years after 14 people travelling in a bus were killed in a bomb blast at Samleti village near Dausa, a court here sentenced one accused to gallows while awarding life term to six others. One of the accused was acquitted in the absence of solid evidences. While accused Abdul Hameed who was awarded death sentence belongs to UP along with two other accused, the rest four belong to Jammu & Kashmir. 

On May 22, 1996, passengers travelling in a bus from Bikaner to Soron near Aligarh in Uttar Pradesh via Jaipur and Dausa were blown up while the bus was passing through Samleti village near Dausa. Fourteen died in the blast including some from Jaipur, a few from Bharatpur and some from Uttar Pradesh while 37 were left injured in the timer blast. Later, the conductor of the bus, who was injured, lodged an FIR at a police station in Mahwa in Dausa district. Thereafter, a caller who introduced himself from Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) called up and took the responsibility of the blast in Samleti. 

After considering the statements of nearly 100 witnesses including the bus passengers and scientific evidences, additional district & sessions judge, Bandikui, Urmilla Kumawat, pronounced the judgment on Monday. "The court has convicted seven persons in this case under Section 302, 307, 120-B, Section 3 and 4 of Public Property Damage Act and 4/5 of Explosives Act. The investigating officer of the case, MM Atrey, an additional SP(CID-CB), has given sufficient evidences against all the accused. One person, identified as Farooq, is acquitted," said Vijay Tiwari, public prosecutor of the case. 

He added that one of the accused who was considered as key conspirator along with Abdul Hameed died during the trial, charges against one of the accused, Chandra Prakash Gupta, were dropped by Rajasthan High Court a year ago. "The court has given death sentence to Abdul Hameed who was in the bus when the blasts took place. He will also have to pay a fine of Rs 1 lakh," Tiwari added. 

"The other accused include Javed Khan alias Javed Junior, Asadullah alias Abdul Gani, Latif Ahamed alias Munna, Moin Ali Bhat alias Mehmood, Mirza Nisar Hussain, and Reis Beigg. Farqookh Ahamed was acquitted by the same court in the absence of the evidences," Tiwari said. 

Source: [last accessed 06.02.2015]

No comments:

Post a Comment