Saturday, December 22, 2018

Hyderabad blast case: Yasin Bhatkal, four others get death sentence by NIA court

By Express Web Desk |New Delhi |Updated: December 19, 2016 6:41:07 pm

Eighteen people were killed in the twin blast at Dilsukhnagar in Hyderabad on February 21, 2013.

Yasin Bhatkal was convicted by the NIA court on December 13.
A special NIA court in Hyderabad on Monday sentenced Indian Mujahideen co-founder Yasin Bhatkal and four others to death in the 2013 Dilsukhnagar blast case. Bhatkal, Zia-ur-Rehman alias Waqas, Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, Tahaseen Akhtar and Aijaz Sheikh, and IM founder Riyaz Bhatkal, the prime accused in the case, who is absconding, were convicted by the NIA court in Cherlapally Central Prison on December 13. On November 7, the final arguments had concluded in the case before the NIA special court. Since IM founder Riyaz Bhatkal, the prime accused in the case, is absconding, the trial was split up against him. The court convicted Yasin Bhatkal and others under various sections of Indian Penal Code, Arms Act, Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA). The NIA special court, after hearing the defence and prosecution’s arguments, pronounced the quantum of sentence.

According to NIA, Riyaz Bhatkal arranged for explosive substances and directed Asadullah Akhtar and Zia-ur-Rahman at Mangalore to receive the same. After receiving the explosive materials and the money sent by Riyaz through hawala and money transfer channels, Asadullah Akhtar and Waqas reached Hyderabad and joined Tahseen Akhtar, who was already hiding there, it had said. Together they prepared two IEDs after procuring the other required materials as well as two cycles for mounting the IEDs from Hyderabad, the agency had said. After preparation of the IEDs on February 21, 2013, the accused mounted two bombs on two bicycles. They had planted them in two separate places in Dilsukhnagar which resulted in powerful explosions, it had said. Eighteen people were killed in the twin blast. The first bomb went off at Anand Tiffins, located opposite Konark Theatre while the second bomb exploded between Venkatadri Theatre and Dilsukhnagar Bus Stand.

Source: (Accessed 22 December 2018)

No comments:

Post a Comment